Book Festival Archives - 2010 - 2015

Book Festival Archive Post.

2014 Book Festival Author
David Rhodes

David Rhodes has received national acclaim for all of his novels, the most recent of which is Jewelweed (2013). This story centers on the small town of Word, Wisconsin, and a number of characters who are trying to come to grips with their problems and make their way in the community. A Booklist review described the work as a “many-faceted novel of profound dilemmas, survival, and gratitude.” A Chicago Tribune review called it “dazzlingly alive” and noted Rhodes is “a master storyteller of real people who live in our small towns.”

Rhodes earned an MFA in writing from the University of Iowa Writer's Workshop in 1971. He published three novels—The Last Fair Deal Going Down (1972), The Easter House (1974), and Rock Island Line (1975)—before a motorcycle accident left him partially paralyzed and interrupted his publishing career.

His next published novel, Driftless (2008), was selected as Milkweed National Fiction Prize Winner, received Outstanding Achievement Award from the Wisconsin Library Association, and was named an All Iowa Reads selection.

Rhodes received a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2010. He lives with his wife, Edna, in Wisconsin, where he is at work on another novel.

For more informaton:

Thank You

Atlas Coffee Mill

Big thanks go to Atlas Coffee Mill for hosting monthly meetings for the Fox Cities Book Festival Board! We appreciate your support of the Festival and just can't thank you enough for providing a welcoming meeting space for us to plan and dream.